Wayne County Logo

Development Council

The vision of the Wayne County Economic Development Council (WEDC) is to be a diverse and effective council of Wayne County residents that is recognized as the principal and responsible resource for both communicating and increasing economic opportunities in Wayne County; strengthening existing businesses; creating new compatible employment opportunities; and accessing and utilizing all available resources.

The WEDC and EDD provide assistance to Wayne County residents, entrepreneurs, businesses and industry, as well as provide assistance to the County and communities within Wayne County, in the areas of community and economic development, business retention, expansion and recruitment, and job creation.  The mission of the WEDC is to help create and maintain jobs in Wayne County.

The WEDC provides support and guidance to the Economic Development Director in the successful accomplishment of and adherence to the Council’s Annual Plan.

  • WEDC Members Show all
    Wayne County Commission: Economic Development:
    Newell E. Harward Michelle Coleman, Director
    Town Council Representative:


    Mayor Gil Hunt
    Council Member, Chylene Whipple
    Mayor Jeff Olsen
    Mayor Clenn Okerlund
    Mayor Scott Chesnut

    Council Members:
    Capitol Reef:
    Health Services:
    Planning & Zoning:
    EMS Director:
    Wayne Travel Council:
    Bureau Of Land Management:
    Public Education:
    U.S. Forest Service:
    South Central Communications:
    Private Business:
    Private Business:
    Business Association:
    Kerry Cook- WEDC Chair, Farm Bureau Member
    Leah McGinnis, Superintendent
    Donald Coombs, Cache Valley Bank,  Manager
    Gina Flanagan, Wayne Community Health Center, Executive Director
    Mike Rubeck
    , Chair
    Jeri Johnson, Wayne County Emergency Medical Director
    Nycole Durfey, Director Wayne County Office Of Tourism
    Sue Fivecoat, Assistant Field Office Manager
    Burke Torgerson,  Superintendent Wayne School District
    Kurtis Robbins, Ranger Fremont River Ranger District
    Paul Pace, Board President
    Dennis Blackburn, M & D Automotive Parts & Repairs, Owner
    Amy Jackson, Manager Bullhead Sand & Gravel
    Tasha Brian , President
    Ex-officio members:

    Garkane Energy:
    USU Extension:
    USU Extension:
    USU Extension:
    Six County AOG:
    Six County AOG:
    Six County AOG:

    Marcus Lewis, Member Services Manager
    Trent Wilde, Farm Agent
    GaeLynn Peterson, Family & Consumer Science Agent
    Jody Gale, Agent of Rural Ag Economic Development
    Russ Cowley, Executive Director
    Emery Polelonema, Regional Planner & CDBG Program Manager
    Jalyne Ogden, RLF Loan Administrator


  • WEDC Guiding Principles
    1. The Wayne County Economic Development Council (Council) shall provide support and guidance to the Economic Development Director in the successful accomplishment of and/or adherence to 1) the WEDC’s Annual Plan, 2) the pertinent sections of the 1994 Wayne County General Plan.
    2. WEDC participants serve at the pleasure of the Wayne County Commission and are appointed by invitation of the Commission
    3. WEDC membership will be reviewed annually by the Council and Commission.  New participants may be recruited and current members may be relieved of their appointment at the request of the Council and approval of the Commission.
    4. WEDC meetings will be open to the public, though only appointed Council members or their proxy shall be allowed to vote.
    5. All decisions by the WEDC must be ratified by the Wayne County Commission.
    6. The ED director (and/or WEDC Chair) will report to the Commission following any WEDC meeting.
    7. The Commission may select a Chair and Chair-Elect that will serve for a term to be determined by the WEDC.
    8. The WEDC Chair will work closely with the Economic Development Director in the creation of the WEDC meeting agenda, chair the meeting, and undertake any duties deemed appropriate by the Council.
    9. WEDC consider and will be guided by Wayne County’s “rural lifestyle” and "quality of life" when making decisions, policies, and planning.